History: Bomarzo’s Monsters Park was built for Prince Pier Francesco Orsini, called Vicino Orsini, in 1547 with mythological figures in grotesque style. There are impossible architectures, such as “The Tilted House” and enigmatic statues. Even Salvador Dalì, the great Spanish painter, spoke of the Monster Park as a unique historical invention. In 1585, after the death of the last Prince Orsini, the park was abandoned and only in the second half of the twentieth century it was restored by the couple Tina Severi and Giancarlo Bettini.
Description of the Park: The park covers an area of about 3 hectares. Inside there are placed a large number of various sizes depicting mythological animal sculptures, but also buildings that reflect the classical world and cancel the perspective and aesthetic rules, in order to confuse the visitor.
The Ogre: It is certainly the most famous figure of the Park and its symbol. The work represents a great big face of stone with his mouth wide open; in reality it is a room carved into the tuff. For the particular environment, the voices of those who enter it are amplified and distorted, creating a frightening effect.